Another Public Apology

So I put up a pic of a tory MP Steven Woodworth, paraphrasing his position on abortion. He seems to think that women who get raped should not have them. At least that is what I have gleaned from reading about him.

So I put a satirical quote, attributed to him, about rape being “God’s Will”.

It was meant as satire – albeit fairly edgy – because I am deeply offended by what I see as Mr. Woodworth’s seeming crusade to shove currently legal abortions into the back alleys where they don’t belong.
As an anti-theist, I am also offended by the use of superstitious biblical mumbo-jumbo that people use as a supposedly valid reason for depriving people of safe abortions. I don’t think abortions are a good thing, I just don’t think they should be illegal.

I am also offended that Mr. Woodworth is part of a government that very likely stole the 2011 election and is now running roughshod over democracy in ways that no other government in Canadian history has.
But Mr. Woodworth must know by now that part of being IN public life is opening yourself up to satire and insults. It comes with the job. I have had many actionable things said about me on web forums, and comments forums on pages, complained to editors and webmasters, and got no justice. It is part of the peril of the internet. I draw your attention to the myriad pictures of Obama as Hitler that cover the net, as evidence. The Net is a rough place.

So I sincerely apologize if anyone thought that it was an actual quote from Mr. Woodworth. It was not. Nor was it meant to be regarded as such. I mean THINK, people: no one – not even a tory – is going to come out and actually say something so outlandish as “Rape Is God’s Will”.

Frankly, I can’t see how people could think it was an actual quote. I mean really, people. How dumb do you have to be? Have you never heard of satire?

The Pic has been taken down, of course….

About russellbarth

Trying to end marijuana prohibition, and educate people about marijuana, diet, prohibition, and sustainable living.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

