An Open letter to Premier Dalton McGuinty, Education Minister Laurel Broten, and my MPP- Bob Chiarelli

(Just sent this off this morning)

I demand an investigation into the goings-on at the Ottawa Catholic School Board – specifically St. Pius X, on Fisher Ave. in Nepean, because I want some answers!

In June, I was approached by a 15 year old boy who tried to buy marijuana off of me in broad daylight at a bus stop. I complained to the school and the board, and they blew me off. I was bullied by these kids, they all had a big laugh at my, and my sick wife’s, expense, and nothing was done about it!

Read this for more details:

I offered to come talk to the school about the issue of medical marijuana, and the administration blew me off, saying the provincial policy is that marijuana is illegal, and therefore bad – period. I told them that a one hour talk from me would significantly reduce drug use at St. Pius (which, I am told, has a reputation as a “stoner school”), and they refused.

Meanwhile, kids are using tobacco right ON school property – some of them under the age of 19, as the vice principal told me on the phone in July – and they don’t even enforce those rules!!!! They have a cop on duty almost all the time, and he apparently lets that slide too. To be clear: I have deep suspicions that the administration of At. Pius X, and the police, are allowing illegal tobacco use ON school property, and I want it looked into. I have seen kids leaning against the school smoking, so that is a good indication.

I have been deeply upset by these events, even finding it harder to go out and get things done, as these events have aggravated my PTSD.

Meanwhile, you are about to pass some “no bullying” law that does nothing at all to address the issues of bullying medical marijuana users inside or outside the school.

I want answers. I want to know why this school and it’s board are refusing to discuss resolving this issue with me. They say it is because of marijuana, which only shows that some bullying is okay, as long as it is just drug users being bullied.

And I demand changes to the laws – changes that recognize and protect the Charter rights of medical marijuana users, because the laws are now systematically discriminating against me and my wife.

Kids are smoking cancer-causing tobacco on school property and the administration allows that! Kids bully local handicapped people, and the administration allows that, BECAUSE I am a pot user. I try to resolve the issue in a coherent and sensible way, and the administration ignores me again! So I turn to you – the party I actually voted for, and who’s job it is to protect my rights – for an investigation.

Immediately, please!

Russell Barth
Educators For Sensible Drug Policy
Federally Licensed Medical Marijuana User

About russellbarth

Trying to end marijuana prohibition, and educate people about marijuana, diet, prohibition, and sustainable living.
This entry was posted in Activism, Politics and mental illness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

