My Pot = My Medicine

Ottawa councillor wants to extend smoking ban

Ottawa councillor wants smoking banned in parks and patios

City Councillor Wants Tougher Smoking Rules

So I sent this to various local media:

As a Federally Licensed Medical Marijuana User who is also married to one, I will not be obeying this ban for a number of reasons. First off, my public use of marijuana should not be likened to tobacco smoking because I am not succumbing to an addiction, I am not “enjoying the flavor”, nor is it a “habit”. My public use of pot should rather be likened to someone using an asthma puffer or epi-pen. To deprive me of my medicine – when I need it, not hours later – is both cruel and unconstitutional.

As much as I agree that people should not be using tobacco and that people who don’t smoke should not be exposed to smells they don’t ned to be exposed to, my right to use my medicine must also be respected. And, as someone who uses 10 grams of marijuana a day, who got out of a wheelchair, cured his impotence, and serves as a 24/7 caregiver to my sick wife, I will be damned if I am going to be deprived of my medicine while in public. Forget it, Ottawa. My wife and I have put up with enough bunk at the hands of your bus drivers, security guards, civilians, and city counselors, and this is where I draw the line.

Russell Barth
Educators For Sensible Drug Policy
Federally Licensed Medical Marijuana User

About russellbarth

Trying to end marijuana prohibition, and educate people about marijuana, diet, prohibition, and sustainable living.
This entry was posted in Politics and mental illness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

